|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:50 am
~ Any & All MTG Rules Questions HereOnly M.T.G.P.S. Guild Helpers Are Permitted to Help People Here. Any Discussion of Effects Belong In The Planeswalkers Pub.~
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:16 am
I've been trying to track down rulings on triggers simultaneous with objects entering/ leaving play. I haven't been able to find anything in the comp rules or gatherer that helps.
Here's the two secnarios:
1: Soul Warden (Whenever another creature comes into play, you gain 1 life.) + other creatures + Ghostway (Remove each creature you control from the game. Return those creatures to play under their owners' control at end of turn.).
The Warden and the other creatures return to play at the same time. Does the Warden's ability trigger?
2: Hissing Iguanar (Whenever another creature is put into a graveyard from play, you may have Hissing Iguanar deal 1 damage to target player.) + other creatures + Wrath of God (Destroy all creatures. They can't be regenerated.).
Similar deal. The Iguanar and the other creatures leave play at the same time. Does its ability trigger?
Are both situations governed by the same rules or does the fact that the Iguanar is not in play at the time the trigger would go off matter?
If possible I'd like a comp rules cite.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:54 pm
epiclevelwarrior I've been trying to track down rulings on triggers simultaneous with objects entering/ leaving play. I haven't been able to find anything in the comp rules or gatherer that helps. Here's the two secnarios: 1: Soul Warden (Whenever another creature comes into play, you gain 1 life.) + other creatures + Ghostway (Remove each creature you control from the game. Return those creatures to play under their owners' control at end of turn.). The Warden and the other creatures return to play at the same time. Does the Warden's ability trigger? 2: Hissing Iguanar (Whenever another creature is put into a graveyard from play, you may have Hissing Iguanar deal 1 damage to target player.) + other creatures + Wrath of God (Destroy all creatures. They can't be regenerated.). Similar deal. The Iguanar and the other creatures leave play at the same time. Does its ability trigger? Are both situations governed by the same rules or does the fact that the Iguanar is not in play at the time the trigger would go off matter? If possible I'd like a comp rules cite.
Yes, & Yes. Same Rules (217.1c, 217.1d, & Timestamp Order) Apply to Both Scenarios, in slightly different ways;
MTG Comprehensive Rules 090201-1 " 217.1c An object that moves from one zone to another is treated as a new object. Effects connected with its previous location will no longer affect it. There are five exceptions to this rule: (1) Effects from spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities that change the characteristics of an artifact, creature, enchantment, or planeswalker spell on the stack will continue to apply to the permanent that spell creates. (2) Abilities that trigger when an object moves from one zone to another (for example, “When Rancor is put into a graveyard from play”) can find the object in the zone it moved to when the ability triggered. (3) Abilities of Auras that trigger when the enchanted permanent leaves play can find that permanent in the zone it moved to and can also find the Aura in its owner’s graveyard after state-based effects have been checked. (4) Prevention effects that apply to damage from an artifact, creature, enchantment, or planeswalker spell on the stack will continue to apply to damage from the permanent that spell becomes. (5) Permanents that phase out or in “remember” their earlier states. See rule 217.8c."
MTG Comprehensive Rules 090201-1 " 217.1d If an object would move from one zone to another, determine what event is moving the object. If the object is moving to a public zone, its owner looks at it to see if it has any abilities that would affect the move. Then any appropriate replacement effects, whether they come from that object or from elsewhere, are applied to that event. If any effects or rules try to do two or more contradictory or mutually exclusive things to a particular object, that object’s controller—or its owner if it has no controller—chooses which effect to apply, and what that effect does. (Note that multiple instances of the same thing may be mutually exclusive; for example, two simultaneous “destroy” effects.) Then the event moves the object."
MTG Comprehensive Rules 090201-1 " Timestamp OrderAn object’s timestamp is the time it entered the zone it’s currently in, with three exceptions: (1) If two or more objects enter a zone simultaneously, the active player determines their timestamp order at the time they enter that zone. (2) Whenever an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification becomes attached to an object or player, the Aura, Equipment, or Fortification receives a new timestamp. (3) Permanents that phase in keep the same timestamps they had when they phased out. See rule 418.5e. See also Depend On. Continuous effects generated by static abilities have the same timestamp as the object that generated them. Continuous effects generated by the resolution of a spell or ability receive a timestamp at the time they’re created."
So, Abilities that trigger when an object moves from one zone to another, can find the object in the zone it moved to when the ability triggered. So Then any appropriate replacement effects, whether they come from that object or from elsewhere, are applied to that event. & In Either Case, If two or more objects enter a zone simultaneously, the active player determines their timestamp order at the time they enter that zone.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 9:13 pm
So...I'm guessing based on these questions that if i had out Crucible of Fire and Where Ancients Tread and used Sarkhan Vol's effect to pop out 5 4/4 red dragons...i already know that they come into play with crucible's effect so they actually hit the field as 7/7s but im unsure as to whether all 5 would trigger Where Ancients tread to deal 5 damage for all 5 of the dragons (instant 25 damage)
-edit-
Wait wait...i think i just remembered some ruling which i found completely retarded, but i also know i've heard other wrong things from this store i used to play at...
Effects which say "Put a creature into play" don't trigger things which say "when a creature comes into play" or such..i believe it was in my spirit deck trying to use Myojjin of life and Cloudwalker Kyrin or w/e it was to instant mill an entire deck into nothing.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:55 pm
(Psst...Hero, though i appreciate you trying to help as i was growing impatient... DA-FDNT Only M.T.G.P.S. Guild Helpers Are Permitted to Help People Here. I don't see your name on the list sooo you could technically take 1 of your 3 strikes on this, i don't want to see you getting in trouble so yeah...figured i might let you know...) -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=- Also...the first original question was already answered via me searching around but i still have the question of does "put x into play" trigger "when x comes into play" ...i've been told no before but i've also been told at the same place you can pay mana costs for an effect multiple times if you want to get the effect even if you have to tap the creature...just have to do it as you're tapping it and thats wrong from what i've been hearing recently.. More or less they said its not coming into play its being forced onto the table...but if that were correct then you wouldn't be able to counter spell or anything so it never really seemed right to me ever...
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:15 pm
Uchimi Zanzu So...I'm guessing based on these questions that if i had out Crucible of Fire and Where Ancients Tread and used Sarkhan Vol's effect to pop out 5 4/4 red dragons...i already know that they come into play with crucible's effect so they actually hit the field as 7/7s but im unsure as to whether all 5 would trigger Where Ancients tread to deal 5 damage for all 5 of the dragons (instant 25 damage) Hello Uchimi Zanzu...let me see if I can help you. ^_^ The way the abilities trigger, as stated in the rules, are entirely up to you, as you control the spell(s) triggering. When you choose to put the Dragon Tokens into play, Crucible of Fire automatically ups ANY Dragon creature (whether token or not) that you control (you're playing an ability that is putting dragons under YOUR control) +3/+3 therefore, when the tokens resolve into play, they would be 7/7 and all would trigger the Where Ancients Tread. I had a deck of similar idea built using Crucible, Changelings(I love them!), and anything that made dragons cheaper (Cloud key, Dragonspeaker Shaman, etc.) Hope that helps you! ^_^ If you have any more questions, feel free to post again or PM me if you'd like...
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:23 am
Uchimi Zanzu the first original question was already answered via me searching around AKA..i already found out that if 5 monsters hit the field all from one effect then they can trigger when comes into play multiple times, on top of this i already knew as stated in one of my earlier posts that crucible bumping up a dragon would make the effect trigger as well as devour making them come into play with the +1/+1 already added triggers where ancients tread. also...a rulings judge i know and got a hold of has already answered my other question...no more need to attempt helping anymore... thanks i guess everybody but a week was plenty of time to find out on my own without your help :p
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:40 am
sorry ^^ woulda replied sooner, but I just became a helper like 2 days ago xD
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:35 am
I have a URG deck. In it, I have some Isochron Scepter and some Colossal Might, Fire// Ice, stuff like that.
Now, I have Wee dragonauts. Iso-Scept states to first copy the imprinted card, then play it. I looked at the rulings on Gatherer, and believe these to be seperate events. So, If I iso-scepted a colossal might onto Wee Dragonauts, would it get the +2/+0 trigger?
My answer is yes, and some of my friends agree, but I leave this question to this forum have another opinion.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|