Welcome to Gaia! ::

M.T.G.P.S. Magic The Gathering Preservation Society

Back to Guilds

Magic The Gathering Based Community of Experienced & New Players. 

Tags: Magic The Gathering, Planeswalker RP, Card Game, Discussion, Rules Assistance 

Reply The Planeswalkers Pub [Chatters, Discussions, Old Threads]
Question about lifelink

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Gardeford Superior

Shirtless Lunatic

8,050 Points
  • Bunny Hunter 100
  • Bunny Spotter 50
  • Nudist Colony 200
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:05 pm


my friends have started doing this but i wasnt sure. If a 6/6 with lifelink attacks and you block with a 1/1 doi they still gain all 6 life? or does it only do 1 damage?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 8:02 pm


Wizards of the Coast
702.14b Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source‘s controller, or its owner if it has no controller, to gain that much life (in addition to any other results that damage causes). See rule 119.3.


So...yes, they would still gain 6 life even though it only did 1 damage.

Mirai Maku

Intermediate Flatterer

12,700 Points
  • Mark Twain 100
  • Popular Thread 100
  • Invisibility 100

Tagg the Reborn
Crew

2,000 Points
  • Member 100
  • Gaian 50
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:44 pm


Extra info

However if the 6/6 creature has double-strike, and hits a 1/1 the controller would still only gain 6 points of life, because the creature is destroyed.

if the 6/6 with double-strike hits a 7/7 the controler would gain 12 points of life because it would go through first strike dmg (6 life) and the rest of the dmg in regular combat (6 more life)
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:03 am


ty smile

Gardeford Superior

Shirtless Lunatic

8,050 Points
  • Bunny Hunter 100
  • Bunny Spotter 50
  • Nudist Colony 200

1tty bitty kitty

Rainbow Ladykiller

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:32 pm


Mirai Maku
Wizards of the Coast
702.14b Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source‘s controller, or its owner if it has no controller, to gain that much life (in addition to any other results that damage causes). See rule 119.3.


So...yes, they would still gain 6 life even though it only did 1 damage.


Question: in what scenario does the source not have a controller?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:39 pm


1tty bitty kitty
Mirai Maku
Wizards of the Coast
702.14b Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source‘s controller, or its owner if it has no controller, to gain that much life (in addition to any other results that damage causes). See rule 119.3.


So...yes, they would still gain 6 life even though it only did 1 damage.


Question: in what scenario does the source not have a controller?


...Your face doesn't have a controller (>.>)

Really, I have no idea. I copy/pasted that directly from the Wizards of the Coast rulebook.

Mirai Maku

Intermediate Flatterer

12,700 Points
  • Mark Twain 100
  • Popular Thread 100
  • Invisibility 100

1tty bitty kitty

Rainbow Ladykiller

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:42 pm


Mirai Maku
1tty bitty kitty
Mirai Maku
Wizards of the Coast
702.14b Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source‘s controller, or its owner if it has no controller, to gain that much life (in addition to any other results that damage causes). See rule 119.3.


So...yes, they would still gain 6 life even though it only did 1 damage.


Question: in what scenario does the source not have a controller?


...Your face doesn't have a controller (>.>)

Really, I have no idea. I copy/pasted that directly from the Wizards of the Coast rulebook.


hahaha alright then. I really wonder what scenario would leave a card without a controller.... oh maybe the ones that have some effect that has "random' in it...
Reply
The Planeswalkers Pub [Chatters, Discussions, Old Threads]

 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum