Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply Magic: The Gathering Place
Need some help with some rules Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Bleuy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:34 am


While I was using my R/W deck against my friend's R/W/G sliver deck when we argued about a card called harmonic sliver.

Harmonic Sliver
All Slivers have "When this creature comes into play, destroy target artifact or enchantment"

He says, when the Harmonic Sliver itself comes into play, it may destroy target artifact or enchantment. Is this true?

User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:10 am


It would not destroy anything when it comes into play.

[-The Ingram-]


Darthspanky

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:15 am


the point that it says "all slivers have"(global effect)gives it its own effect sense it is itself considered a sliver.

mustle sliver also gives himself his own +1/+1 sense he himself is considered a sliver.
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:11 pm


But Mr. Spanky, that only affects him once he is in play. I'll point you to Root Sliver so you can see how it works.

[-The Ingram-]


Dark Officer Ippi

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:32 pm


when he comes into play himself, his ability does not trigger, because he is not in play for the stack to take effect. any other sliver that comes afterwards WILL trigger that ability
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:48 pm


thanks! biggrin

Bleuy


SporkMaster5000

Invisible Citizen

10,000 Points
  • Millionaire 200
  • Invisibility 100
  • Megathread 100
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:09 pm


Time Spiral FAQ
Harmonic Sliver
{1}{G}{W}
Creature -- Sliver
1/1
All Slivers have "When this creature comes into play, destroy target artifact or enchantment."

* The controller of the Sliver that comes into play, not the controller of Harmonic Sliver, chooses the target.

* This ability will trigger when Harmonic Sliver comes into play.
emphasis, mine.

where are you people basing your answers off? not only is it spelled out in the FAQ, but in the comp rules it's stated that any trigger that relies on something changing zones (such as leaving play, entering play, enterig the graveyard, or anything similar) checks the game state before the trigger event. therefore, harmonic sliver grants itself its own ability when it comes into play, and then checks the trigger, because a sliver has just come into play.

this is the same reason, for example, Savra can trigger off herself.
PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:47 am


http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=magic/rules/tsp
check out the sliver section on the bottem of the page... that should clear it up

Darthspanky


SporkMaster5000

Invisible Citizen

10,000 Points
  • Millionaire 200
  • Invisibility 100
  • Megathread 100
PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 3:02 am


Darthspanky
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=magic/rules/tsp
check out the sliver section on the bottem of the page... that should clear it up
that actually says nothing about a sliver triggering an ability it would grant itself. the FAQ is much more relevant, as per my post. entire thing can be found here if you like.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:30 pm


glad this got sorted out.



In future, can people who choose to answer rules questions please refer to the MTG website for exact ruling on cards.

Not only does this give people correct information, it adheres to the rules section of this guild.

Thank you.

Jirya
Captain


Woookaaa

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:08 pm


In correspondence to this subject, dont all static abilities go upon the stack the instant their cards enter play. I mean dont the cards abilities themselves enter the stack before their cards do. sorry if this is confusing.
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:03 am


Static abilities don't go on the stack. They're in effect as long as their conditions are met.
Harmonic Sliver's ability is a static ability that gives all slivers a triggered ability. The static ability functions as long as that sliver is in play. It's the triggered ability that uses the stack.
Does that clear it up?

I see no one ever answered the original question.
So, 9 months too late:
If the card doesn't say "may," then you must do it.

Mooby the Golden Sock


Woookaaa

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:16 pm


Mooby the Golden Sock
Static abilities don't go on the stack. They're in effect as long as their conditions are met.
Harmonic Sliver's ability is a static ability that gives all slivers a triggered ability. The static ability functions as long as that sliver is in play. It's the triggered ability that uses the stack.
Does that clear it up?

I see no one ever answered the original question.
So, 9 months too late:
If the card doesn't say "may," then you must do it.

Thanks! And the wording of rules text has been the source of many a heated battle between me and my friends. They tend to not want to follow the rules verbatim.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:41 pm


In that case, you'll want to be checking out this forum.

And if you want the official rules, they're right here.

Mooby the Golden Sock

Reply
Magic: The Gathering Place

Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum