|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:41 am
On the mtg guild here a combo was posted: Teferi and Eye of the Storm
this is supposed to prevent opponents from playing instants or sorceries.
i asked about why it works but eventually just got "don't worry about it, it just works".
i was hoping you guys coudl explain the mechanics to me? i really don't think it would prevent instants and sorceries from being played by opponents.
ty ^_^;
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:13 am
Okay, I think I've got this one.
Teferi basically bans your opponent from playing spells while there is a spell or ability on the stack.
Eye of the Storm pulls cards out from the game, and then places the ability to play them on the stack - which Teferi says "No" to. Thus, he shuts down all the cards that have been removed with Eye.
Since the errata on the Eye says that the removed card won't resolve, the combo effectively says that the player may only play spells or abilities from a populated stack, which they can't do, due to Teferi.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:28 am
Whoever told you about this combo needs to learn how to play the game.
This is not a combo. It does nothing that Teferi didn't already do.
Teferi prevents your opponent from playing spells unless he could play a sorcery. So, he may play spells only during his main phases.
Eye of the Storm triggers whenever a sorcery or instant is played, removes it from the game, and then creates copies of all spells previously removed from the game, and places them on the stack at the choice of the player who played the original sorcery or instant.
Eye of the Storm does prevent your opponent from racking up a storm count, and Teferi does prevent your opponent from interfering with your game plan, but they don't interact on any level as a combo. They do different things, that don't even really complement each other.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:09 pm
LiaThistle Okay, I think I've got this one. Teferi basically bans your opponent from playing spells while there is a spell or ability on the stack. Eye of the Storm pulls cards out from the game, and then places the ability to play them on the stack - which Teferi says "No" to. Thus, he shuts down all the cards that have been removed with Eye. Since the errata on the Eye says that the removed card won't resolve, the combo effectively says that the player may only play spells or abilities from a populated stack, which they can't do, due to Teferi. lol... i am trying to really hard to understand what you are saying XD this is how it works in my head: Opponent plays sorcery or instant during main phase Teferi says "ok!" Eye of the Storm snatched the sorcery, rfgs it, and places a copy of it in play. As far as I understand Teferi does not prevent the copy from resolving since picking a target for the copy is not the same as playing the spell. The copy resolves. Where am i wrong about this? Thanks XD
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 4:47 pm
Possibly the combo was meant to include Rule of Law or Arcane Laboratory rather than Teferi?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:30 pm
would that prevent the copies from playing?
i mean i know you "play" the copies, but the copies aren't spells right? so the copies would not be affected by rule of law or arcane laboratory right?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:07 pm
Correct. I can't see any combo with Eye of the Storm that does what the combo you described should do.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:17 pm
The only way it's a combo is the opponent can only trigger Eye of the Storm on their main phases, whereas EotS would trigger if an instant is played on an opponent's turn otherwise.
Teferi says "No instants on my boss's turn! TWO WEEKS!"
Teferi cannot affect the copies as they still happen on your turn, thus letting all copies be played as though you did cast them. Note these copies aren't 'cast' they are 'played'. Toss them on the stack with legal targets of your choice in the order of your choice.
So you just trigger EotS on your turn instead. Big whoop. Nothing Teferi does on his own in that case, as already stated.
Hopefully someone puts a Char into the Eye so you can fry the little Zhalfir mage.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:00 pm
Zeddicuus The only way it's a combo is the opponent can only trigger Eye of the Storm on their main phases, whereas EotS would trigger if an instant is played on an opponent's turn otherwise. Teferi says "No instants on my boss's turn! TWO WEEKS!" Teferi cannot affect the copies as they still happen on your turn, thus letting all copies be played as though you did cast them. Note these copies aren't 'cast' they are 'played'. Toss them on the stack with legal targets of your choice in the order of your choice. So you just trigger EotS on your turn instead. Big whoop. Nothing Teferi does on his own in that case, as already stated. Hopefully someone puts a Char into the Eye so you can fry the little Zhalfir mage. well i think the control was supposed to happen on the opponents turn when they tried to cast an instant or sorcery. someone told me they brought this combo to Friday Night Magic. I"m sure the judge there would've said something about it... at least i'm sure the opponent would have brought the combo to the judge and questioned it since it doesn't make any sense - at least not to me. i'm really puzzled by this because lots of people are saying it works.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:23 pm
The way I read the cards is it will not shut you down completely. Teferi's Ablity is what is affecting you the most, not EotS.
I don't get what those people are talking about, so if anyone can actually explain just how this is supposed to work I'll think it over more.
But as it stands, I don't see it as viable. Your opponent can still play instanjts and sorceries, so this seems pretty useless.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:15 pm
yes! this has been driving me nuts and it doesn't make any sense at all.
the only response i can get is either "i dunno" or "don't worry about why it just works" XD
so i hope someone can come in that thinks this works and prove it.
so i can stop thinking this. because it drives me nuts lol.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:45 am
Can you please post the link to this discussion? This has me curious now.
I've been thinking on it and I THINK I see how it may work.
1) You play your instant or sorcery 2) Eye of the Storm kicks in, removing it from the game 3) Once Eye of Storm's ability resolves, which you may put on the stack at instant speed. If you're going to put those spells on the stack, you do it now. 4) Teferi, however, states you can only play spells when you can play a sorcery. EotS's ability has you playing those spells at instant speed, which Teferi denies.
You might be able to get one on the stack, but that's about it. All others are denied since they are not occuring at instant speed since something is on the stack.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:23 am
Zeddicuus Can you please post the link to this discussion? This has me curious now. I've been thinking on it and I THINK I see how it may work. 1) You play your instant or sorcery 2) Eye of the Storm kicks in, removing it from the game 3) Once Eye of Storm's ability resolves, which you may put on the stack at instant speed. If you're going to put those spells on the stack, you do it now. 4) Teferi, however, states you can only play spells when you can play a sorcery. EotS's ability has you playing those spells at instant speed, which Teferi denies. You might be able to get one on the stack, but that's about it. All others are denied since they are not occuring at instant speed since something is on the stack. Thank you. That's exactly what I was trying to say earlier. Except that the difference is that EotS cannot put just one spell on at instant speed - its either all or none, and I'm fairly sure its all, to which, as mentioned, Teferi says "no" to.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|