Welcome to Gaia! ::

M.T.G.P.S. Magic The Gathering Preservation Society

Back to Guilds

Magic The Gathering Based Community of Experienced & New Players. 

Tags: Magic The Gathering, Planeswalker RP, Card Game, Discussion, Rules Assistance 

Reply M.T.G. Rules - Q&A [Game Rules, Errata, & Restrictions]
What does it say? ... Errata Questions

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

DA-FDNT
Captain

Distinct Elder

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:52 am



~

Any & All MTG Errata Questions Here

Only M.T.G.P.S. Guild Helpers Are Permitted to Help People Here.
Any Discussion of Errata Belong In The Planeswalkers Pub.


~
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:55 pm


I know the answer to this question but always have wondered why it works:

A player uses an activated ability of a creature. In response I destroy the creature but its effect still goes off. Why does the ability stay if the creature "wasn't around" to use its ability? I'm pretty sure it works both ways, stacked either way. I know it works but want to know why. confused

Are activated abilities "uncounterable" unless by Voidslime or Pithing Needle?

Kaiser Khorosho

Swashbuckling Inquisitor

12,750 Points
  • Profitable 100
  • Jolly Roger 50
  • Treasure Hunter 100

DA-FDNT
Captain

Distinct Elder

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:30 pm


Kaiser Khronos
I know the answer to this question but always have wondered why it works:

A player uses an activated ability of a creature. In response I destroy the creature but its effect still goes off. Why does the ability stay if the creature "wasn't around" to use its ability? I'm pretty sure it works both ways, stacked either way. I know it works but want to know why. confused

Are activated abilities "uncounterable" unless by Voidslime or Pithing Needle?


Well first, this belongs in the Official Rules Questions thread titled: Uhmm ...
(Because we're talking fundamentals here, not Errata wink )

But that's ok biggrin ~

Anyway, The reason the Activated ability still goes off is because Activated abilities use the stack;

Magic The Gathering Rules 090201-1
409.1a The player announces that he or she is playing the spell or activated ability. If a spell is being played, that card (or that copy of a card) physically moves from the zone it’s in to the stack. It has all the characteristics of the card (or the copy of a card) associated with it, and its controller is the player who played it. If an activated ability is being played, it’s created on the stack as an object that’s not a card. If an activated ability is being played from a hidden zone, the card that has that ability is revealed. On the stack, the ability has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. Its controller is the player who played the ability. The spell or ability remains on the stack until it’s countered or resolves.


So to counter actiavated abilities, you'd need one of the 8 spells that counter activated abilities; Azorius Guildmage, Bind, Brown Ouphe, Ouphe Vandals. Rimewind Cryomancer, Squelch, Voidmage Husher, & Voidslime, otherwise they are "uncounterable"
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:56 am


Hiya :]
I have a questions XD~

User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.

Flying

When Sower of Temptation comes into play, gain control of target creature as long as Sower of Temptation remains in play.

User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.

Each other creature becomes a copy of target nonlegendary creature until end of turn.

So here is the question, My opponent plays his "Sower of Temptation," and steals my "Reveillark," and I used "Mirrorweave," and targeting Reveilark...

And by looking at the Sower's text.
Quote:
When "Sower of Temptation" comes into play, gain control of target creature as long as "Sower of Temptation" remains in play.


Sower needs to remain in play to gain control of Reveilark, but Mirrorweave changed every creature into copies of Reveilark...

Will Sower of Temptation lose control of my Reveilark?


Thanks for the help :]

User_3556568

4,600 Points
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Wall Street 200
  • Trader 100

sky_rider19

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 2:11 pm


Hey, I'm wondering if Lilliana's caress would activate if I used Jace's erasure's effect.

Jace's Erasure's effect:
Whenever you draw a card, you may have target player put the top card of his or her library into his or her graveyard

Lilliana's Caress's effect:
Whenever an opponent discards a card, that player loses 2 life.

question:
does Jace's erasure count as discarding or does it only count from discarding a card from your hand?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:45 pm


sky_rider19
Hey, I'm wondering if Lilliana's caress would activate if I used Jace's erasure's effect.

Jace's Erasure's effect:
Whenever you draw a card, you may have target player put the top card of his or her library into his or her graveyard

Lilliana's Caress's effect:
Whenever an opponent discards a card, that player loses 2 life.

question:
does Jace's erasure count as discarding or does it only count from discarding a card from your hand?


Putting cards into the graveyard from anywhere, but your hand, does not count as discarding.

Discarding only counts if a card says "Target player discards x cards" Discard being the keyword

Tagg the Reborn
Crew

2,000 Points
  • Member 100
  • Gaian 50

sky_rider19

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:40 pm


Tagg the Terror of Death
sky_rider19
Hey, I'm wondering if Lilliana's caress would activate if I used Jace's erasure's effect.

Jace's Erasure's effect:
Whenever you draw a card, you may have target player put the top card of his or her library into his or her graveyard

Lilliana's Caress's effect:
Whenever an opponent discards a card, that player loses 2 life.

question:
does Jace's erasure count as discarding or does it only count from discarding a card from your hand?


Putting cards into the graveyard from anywhere, but your hand, does not count as discarding.

Discarding only counts if a card says "Target player discards x cards" Discard being the keyword

got you. makes sense. Thanks for the help
Reply
M.T.G. Rules - Q&A [Game Rules, Errata, & Restrictions]

 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum